Book Review My Keepsake Bible

978-1-4143-9867-9My Keepsake Bible was a different type of review for me. I’ve never reviewed a book specifically aimed at children before. But, having recently become a first time parent, I’ve found myself more concerned with matters of child-spirituality. Our daughter is only 4 ½ months at the time of this writing, but my wife and I diligently read to her from this Bible each day, noting what we liked and what we didn’t like as much. This Bible is an illustrated basic introduction to the overarching Biblical narrative. In between the Bible stories are prayers, some very traditional and time-tested, others that it seems the author wrote to meet certain situations.

We felt that some of the language was above the reading level of the intended audience. However, this was few and far between. Overall, the book is very well illustrated (even our newborn was drawn in to the vibrant colors that filled each page to illustrate the story. This introductory Bible is just that, introductory. But at the age it’s intended for, it’s important for children to be introduced to the basic stories of Scripture and the basic concepts of the Christian faith. My Keepsake Bible accomplishes this well. This is a perfect first Bible for young children, even including a gift page. Overall, we recommend this book as a great starter Bible for families to read together!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale Publishing as a part of its book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

